• List of State Underground Power Projects

    Since the State Underground Power Program began in 1996, 85 projects have been completed, providing underground distribution systems to over 86,000 properties. The program offers two types of projects:

    • Major Residential Projects involve the conversion of overhead supply to underground distribution lines in suburban areas
    • Localised Enhancement Projects aim to beautify urban gateways, scenic routes and tourism/heritage centres, particularly in regional towns

    Projects that have been completed (or are under development) are listed below.

    Round Five

    Major Residential Projects Localised Enhancement Projects
    Wilson East Kennedy Street, Thew Street and Maidstone Crescent, Exmouth
    Coolbellup East Augusta Street, Laverton
    Hamilton Hill Forrest, St Collie
    Ardross West Throssell Street, Collie
    Shoalwater Albany Highway between York Street and Sandford Road, Albany
    Salter Point Clive Street, Katanning
    Coolbinia Pinjarra Road, Pinjarra
    Ashfield Town Centre-Stirk Street-Railway Road-Mead Street and Canning Road, Kalamunda
    Lathlain North  
    Lathlain South  
    Ardross East  
    Melville South  
    Bicton North  


    Round Four

    Major Residential Projects Localised Enhancement Projects
    Attadale South Toodyay Townsite
    Attadale North Brunswick Junction, Brunswick
    Bentley East Bussell Highway, Cowaramup
    Maddingon Heaton Street, Jurien Bay
    Mt Pleasant North Albany Highway, Victoria Park
    Palm Beach  
    Wilson West  


    Round Three

    Major Residential Projects Localised Enhancement Projects
    Victoria Park South Lowood and Langton Roads, Plantagenet
    Shenton Park Main Street, Balingup
    City Beach Brockman Street, Nannup
    Gosnells North Ocean Drive, Bunbury
    Fremantle Marine Terrace, Geraldton
    Nedlands East Foreshore Drive, Geraldton
    Port Headland Stubbs Street, Lake Grace
    Churchlands/Wembley Downs Waroona
    Highgate East Manjimup
    Como East  


    Round Two

    Major Residential Projects Localised Enhancement Projects
    Bicton South Terrace, Fremantle
    East Fremantle Albany Highway, Gosnells
    Rivervale Denham Road, Denham
    South Perth Rockingham Beach Precinct
    Claremont George Street, Pinjarra
    Mt Pleasant/Booragoon Mundaring Township, Mundaring
    Mt Lawley Mary Street, Highgate
    West Leederville/North Wembley Uduc Road, Harvey
    East Victoria Park/Carlisle Scarborough Beach Precinct, Scarborough
    Subiaco Hampton Street, Bridgetown
    West Nedlands  
    Mosman Park  


    Round One

    Major Residential Projects Localised Enhancement Projects
    Cottesloe Warren Road, Nannup
    Peppermint Grove Stewart Street, Dowerin
    Dalkeith South Western Highway, Donnybrook
    Swanbourne Steere Street, Collie
    Woodlands Bussell, Highway, Margaret River
    Como Moreton Terrace, Dongara
    East Fremantle  


    Pilot Projects

    Major Residential Projects

    Last reviewed: 14 February 2017

    Related Initiative

    Last reviewed: 14 February 2017

About us

Treasury plays a central role in managing Western Australia’s public sector finances and in providing expert analysis and advice on the strategies and frameworks necessary for maintaining the State’s economic and financial position.

Read More

Contact us

Postal Address
Locked Bag 11 Cloisters Square WA 6850

Main Switchboard
08 6551 2777

TTY (Hearing Impaired)
13 36 77

[email protected]

Feedback and Complaints

Our Feedback and Complaints system allows you to submit your feedback or complaint and allows us to track the required actions. Please complete the complaints and feedback form.


Annual Report

© Copyright Government of Western Australia.
All right reserved.