• Networks

    The Western Australian Government owns Western Power and Horizon Power, which operate the three major electricity networks.  

    Western Power’s network

    Western Power operates the transmission and distribution systems within the South West Interconnected System (SWIS), the biggest electricity network in Western Australia.  The boundary of the SWIS extends to Kalbarri to the north, Albany to the south and Kalgoorlie to the east.

    Horizon Power’s network

    Horizon Power operates the North West Interconnected System (NWIS) in the Pilbara region, the smaller Esperance network, as well as over 30 discrete networks in regional towns and remote communities.

    Privately owned networks

    Privately owned electricity transmission and distribution networks mainly service mining operations in the Pilbara.

    Network access

    The Economic Regulation Authority regulates third party (retailers and large-scale users) access to Western Australia's electricity networks covered by the Electricity Networks Access Code. Currently, the only regulated electricity network is Western Power’s South West Interconnected System.

About us

Treasury plays a central role in managing Western Australia’s public sector finances and in providing expert analysis and advice on the strategies and frameworks necessary for maintaining the State’s economic and financial position.

Read More

Contact us

Postal Address
Locked Bag 11 Cloisters Square WA 6850

Main Switchboard
08 6551 2777

TTY (Hearing Impaired)
13 36 77

[email protected]

Feedback and Complaints

Our Feedback and Complaints system allows you to submit your feedback or complaint and allows us to track the required actions. Please complete the complaints and feedback form.


Annual Report

© Copyright Government of Western Australia.
All right reserved.